What’s for Dinner?

Emilie's dinner menu

For the last several years, perhaps even the last decade – I have planned my dinner meals either one or two weeks in advance. This was borne out of a lack of funds and needing to ensure that I had adequate food to feed my family until the next grocery shopping day. Sometimes this meant that I even added up exactly how many pieces of fruit I would need for the week so my kids always had 2 pieces in their lunch.

Well – I’ve been experiencing the joys of a blended family for the last three years, and that equals one confusing dinner menu each week. See – on week one we (usually) have this many people for dinner in this order: 5, 7, 4, 4, 6, 6, 6. This doesn’t include the various arrangements the kids make on the weekend which always tends to make the numbers change. Week two is in this order: 6, 7, 4, 3, 3, 3, 5. (This again, doesn’t include arrangements with the one kid we have on this weekend.)Emilie's dinner idea sample

I spend Monday evening whingeing about the ‘dinners list’ – if I’m really stuck I’ll get out my dinner ideas pages – see sample page to the left. I think about how many people we have when, who likes what, and how poor we are this week. Tuesday is shopping day see, so Monday night I write the list. Starting with the dinner menu, I then fill in what we need on the other side of the page to take shopping.

Once shopping is done, I pin up the ‘dinners list’ on the note-board. No matter how many years I’ve been doing this, the kids always seem interested in what is on it. They always complain – either because they won’t be here on a night they like the sound of dinner, or it’s something they think is god awful like casserole. I love casserole, as does my partner. The kids almost always whine and complain. I reckon they’re mighty lucky they have a Mum/StepMum who loves to cook.

Maybe I should make a collage of some of my dinners lists. I could include it in my C.V. – proof of my organisational skills :)

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Comments
One Response to “What’s for Dinner?”
  1. Carstenwm says:

    Good idea – I’m about to learn the same (making dinners lists) from my job as socialworker. About cv’s: remember to make screenpics of you’r webpages. I’ve made small (A6 I think it is) colour-prints (laminated) of most of the pages I’ve made during the years

Leave a Reply

